I think it's a total gimmick. The Laneway festival is over. Battles it not playing again until March. When you click the link on that Youtube page to go to the live stream, it takes you to one of those paid websites. I'm not falling for it!
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .